• Pierre

    For as long as I can remember, technology has been a huge part of my life. The rise and introduction to new and accessible technology started a couple years prior to my birth, however, it took over globally in the mid 2000’s and forever changed our world. When the word technology is brought up it can often have a negative connotation. At least personally, growing up with my parents repeating “it’s because you’re always on your phone” as an excuse for everything, it created this idea that technology is harmful. While technology has a lot of benefits and disadvantages, I am not here to argue whether technology is beneficial or not, but rather I will tell you my personal experiences with technology in my culture.

    Growing up, the first use of technology I was introduced to was an Xbox360. Phones often get most of the attention because almost all teenagers have access to one, however, my story with technology began with video games. The Xbox360 was a console created for entertainment. It was often criticized and called addictive or unhealthy, but it was one of the biggest parts of my Childhood. Growing up in France, it was very accessible for me, with a father who worked for Microsoft, a new pricy console all the sudden became affordable. While it remained a simple console, it brought happiness, friendship and memories. There is no feeling like getting your hands on that brand-new game or going over to a friends house to play FIFA or even NBA 2k. This intensity of pure happiness and satisfaction could not be replicated. It left me impatient, as every Friday night I hurried home from school to play the game with my classmates. Technology had allowed my creativity and imagination to expand as I grew up socializing online forming new bonds over all sorts of games.

    I remember bringing my console to Spain every summer. It annoyed my mom and “abuela” but I couldn’t help it. Filled with excitement, I hurried back from the beach all sandy and tan ready to play with my cousins. In a way this console unified us, it brought us closer. As cousins it was one of the few ways to ensure that we would get along for a couple hours. We would login onto FIFA, I would pick Real Madrid, he would most often choose Barcelona and we would play a Clasico game, as my brother and older cousins watched. It occupied us. We laughed, argued, cried, and so much more because of these games and new technology. We were so loud, the neighbours would often come by our balcony yelling from across street “Callate, es la hora de la siesta” but that was what made those times even more memorable.

    And then came the backlash…

    “It is harmful to your eyes”

    “it encourages violent and aggressive behavior”

    “Is it addictive?”

    “What does it teach you?”

    Technology taught me a lot.

    As a kid who grew up in the modern world, where phones and consoles were common, I saw technology as a reminder of all the fun times growing up. I saw the changes and improvements. I saw something that was integrated into my culture. I learned that society is not fond of change, and I understand people’s differing opinions on technology. But to me, technology is part of my culture, part of who I am and the memories I share. Was I addicted? Maybe. But did it teach me life lessons, create lifelong memories and help me socially interact with others? Yes.

     

    Before - Part I : Positive sides

    Next - Part III : The middle between the positive and negative sides

     

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: